F# – Sid Hille Trio

F# - Sid Hille Trio

F# (F sharp or FIS) is the name of Sid Hille’s new trio.
The band started rehearsing in March 2016 and played their debut concert at the legendary Pori Jazz Festival on July 15th, 2016.

With Sid on piano, Jori Huhtala on bass and Markus Ketola on drums, F# is essentially a piano trio, but with a couple of twists:
Hille plays the Fender Rhodes piano instead of the traditional acoustic piano, using all sorts of effects, sound modifications, expression and loop pedals. Also Huhtala is using electronica to modify his beautiful acoustic bass sound and Ketola employs loops and samples of his own live playing, manipulating them through the Ableton Live application and thus creating spontaneously complete soundscapes.

Here is a clip from their first rehearsal in March 2016:

In spring 2017 F# will was joined by Austrian multi-instrumentalist Herbert Könighofer for a series of concerts in Finland and Estonia. Here is a clip from their concert in Tallinn (with special guest Estonian singer Liina Saar):

The slightly anarchistic approach in their performance raised much interest.
The Sid Hille Trio F# will be on tour in Estonia again for a series of concerts with vocalists Laura Põldvere and Ivi Rausi during November 2017:

Nov 14th – Viljandi
Nov 16th – Tartu
Nov 17th – Tallinn
Nov 18th – Rakvere

…and with Herbert Könighofer again back in Finland in the beginning of December 2017 (dates tba).

Check the gig calendar for an updated schedule.